Home  |  Site Map  |  Contact Us  |   MEMBERS AREA
About UsMembershipNews & EventsGovernment RelationsResources
Press Releases
Published Articles
ACR News
Seminars & Events Calendar
Photo Gallery
How to Become A Member

Press Releases

ACR to Honor Trio with Gold Medal Award in 2023

The ACR Board of Chancellors will honor three of its own – Drs. Edward Bluth, James Brink and Carolyn Cidis Meltzer – by awarding them with the Gold Medal in recognition of their service to the organization and contributions to radiology. The group will also bestow an Honorary Fellowship on Dr. Richard Potter and honor Dr. Robert Achermann with its Distinguished Achievement Award. Honorees will be recognized during the ACR 2023 Annual Meeting in May.

Full Story: Imaging Technology News (12/8)


American College of Radiology Announces 2023 Honorees

Recipients to be recognized during ACR 2023 Annual Meeting

The American College of Radiology (ACR) Board of Chancellors (BOC) named three Gold Medalists, one Honorary Fellowship recipient and a Distinguished Achievement Awardee in recognition of their extraordinary contributions to the field of radiology and outstanding service to the ACR. Honorees will be recognized during the ACR 2023 Annual Meeting, May 6–10.

The following individuals will receive the ACR Gold Medal:


Edward I. Bluth, MD, FACR

Edward I. Bluth, MD, FACR, is chair emeritus of the Department of Radiology at Ochsner Health System in New Orleans. He previously served on the ACR Board of Chancellors, where he chaired the Commission on Human Resources and the Governance Committee. He also served as an ACR delegate to the American Medical Association House of Delegates.


James A. Brink, MD

James A. Brink, MD, FACR, is the Juan M. Taveras professor of radiology at the Harvard Medical School in Boston. He is a past chair of the ACR Board of Chancellors, on which he also served as the chair of the Commission for Body Imaging, as well as serving as ACR president.


Carolyn Cidis Meltzer, MD

Carolyn Cidis Meltzer, MD, FACR, is dean of the Keck School of Medicine and professor of radiology at the University of Southern California. She is a member and past chair of the ACR Commission on Research, as well as past member of the ACR Board of Chancellors and past chair of the ACR Commission on Neuroradiology.


Richard Pötter, MD

Richard Pötter, MD, of Vienna, Austria, will receive an ACR Honorary Fellowship. He is a professor (emeritus) and chairman (retired) in the Department of Radiation Oncology, having served at the Medical University Vienna General Hospital Comprehensive Cancer Center. He was clinical editor in Radiotherapy and Oncology from 2005-2014 and is past-president of GEC-ESTRO.


The ACR Distinguished Achievement Awardee is Robert J. Achermann, JD, who has served as the executive director of the California Radiological Society for much of his nearly 40-year career. He has worked side-by-side with the state society leadership successfully championing difficult policy issues in diverse areas of healthcare, including occupational licensing and medical malpractice reform and has advised multiple ACR Board chairs throughout his career.

For more information, visit ACR.org or Imaging Technology News.


Email this article Know someone who would enjoy this article?
Email it to them Now!

Return to the main press release area.

Print This PageTop of Page
Like Us On Facebook
Designed / Developed by WebSolutions